Free RPG Day   Leave a comment

It’s been almost a week since Free RPG Day and I’ve had a chance to go over the booklets I picked up at the event.  I’ll give some brief thoughts and opinions on the three booklets I grabbed from Paizo, White Wolf,  and Green Ronin over the next few days.

-Paizo’s “We Be Goblins” is very short with only 7-8 pages of the 16 total being the actual adventure.  There’s not much to say about it overall but role playing an evil little goblin might be fun for a short while.  The adventure itself is pretty basic, find fireworks, get to where they are, fight three or four things on the way there.  There is essentially nothing to explain the rules for the system in the module, and while it’s an upgraded version of the ubiquitous D&D 3.5 rules, if someone is completely new to RPG’s I wouldn’t really recommend it to them to them as most likely they’ll end up completely lost.  I feel that this is certainly less of an introduction to the system, as it is trying to sell you the newest products Paizo is releasing.

Overall I wasn’t really impressed at what Paizo contributed to Free RPG day but it’s probably more a case of trying to sell a product to their current fans than trying to recruit new ones to the hobby.

Posted June 24, 2011 by lunaravian in Tabletop rpgs

Leave a comment